Interesting Link Roundup

“No Irish Need Apply”: a Myth of Victimization

What We Deserve

The Rape of Mr. Smith

Why film schools teach screenwriters not to pass the Bechdel test

“The Only Moral Abortion is My Abortion”

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Interesting Link Roundup”

  1. Jennifer Kesler Says:

    Thanks for featuring my article!

    BTW, your link to the “No Irish” article isn’t working. I did figure out the URL and read it, however. As an Irish-American, I had never heard of my ancestors being denied jobs. I always understood we were welcome to the menial and dangerous jobs more privileged people didn’t have to take, and that we were treated and paid badly for our efforts. I don’t doubt we were denied *better* jobs by employers who bought into stereotypes and prejudices against the Irish, but I never heard of these signs that the author seems convinced “all” Irish-Americans have heard about. ;)

    • whatshesed Says:

      You’re very welcome! It’s a really interesting piece.

      Ooh, thanks for letting me know. It should be fixed now. I’m not Irish, so I can’t speak to any family stories or experiences, but l heard about NINA signs in my AP US History class in high school — there was actually a paragraph or so about them in our textbook. I’m not sure if that says more about the pervasiveness of the myth or the quality of fact-checking in US history texts, but I always find it interesting when I come across debates about things I learned as hard fact in school.

  2. Jennifer Kesler Says:

    Well, I’m all for getting the word out if many people are being misinformed about something. I was just surprised that it wasn’t something I’d heard.

    I can’t speak to the pervasiveness of the myth, obviously, but textbooks in the US are less reliable than the internet. :D

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

